the playlist: APR 2017

1. Matisyahu - "Step Out Into The Light"

2. Current Swell - "It Ain't Right"

3. Dan Auerbach - "Shine On Me"

4. Michelle Branch - "Best You Ever"

5. Benjamin Booker - "Witness"

6. North Mississippi Allstars - "Prayer For Peace"

7. Skip Marley - "Lions"

8. Gorillaz (featuring D.R.A.M.) - "Andromeda"

9. Jamiroquai - "Automaton"

10. Filous (featuring Mat Kearney) - "Goodbye"


the playlist: MAR 2017

1. Fleet Foxes - "Third Of May / Ōdaigahara"

2. Rob Drabkin - "Someday"

3. Satsang (featuring Nahko) - "Between"

4. Wild Adriatic - "Come Back Baby"

5. Nick Hakim - "Bet She Looks Like You"

6. Slow Dancer - "Don't Believe"

7. Future Islands - "Ran"

8. Maroon 5 (featuring Future) - "Cold"

9. Lorde - "Green Light"

10. The Chainsmokers (featuring Coldplay) - "Something Just Like This"


the playlist: FEB 2017

1. Dispatch - "Only The Wild Ones"

2. Ryan Montbleau - "Bright Side"

3. Chase McBride - "On The Other Side"

4. Guthrie Brown - "Stay Gold"

5. Allen Stone - "American Priviledge"

6. Robert Randolph & The Family Band (featuring Darius Rucker) - "Love Do What It Do"

7. ALO - "Bizarre Love Triangle"

8. Thievery Corporation - "Let The Chalice Blaze"

9. Chaz Bundick & The Mattson 2 - "Star Stuff"

10. The Weeknd (featuring Daft Punk) - "I Feel It Coming"


the playlist: JAN 2017

1. John Mayer - "Love On The Weekend"

2. The Shins - "Name For You"

3. Ed Sheeran - "Shape Of You"

4. Ryan Adams - "Do You Still Love Me?"

5. Old 97's (featuring Brandi Carlile) - "Good With God"

6. Craig Finn - "Preludes"

7. Madaila - "Nature"

8. Jim James - "Here In Spirit"

9. John Legend (featuring Brittany Howard) - "Darnkess And Light"

10. Childish Gambino - "Redbone"


Introducing... "the playlist"

This is a brand new feature which will replace the monthly "BURN THIS" series of tracklists which ended with the August 2016 mix. Those tracklists featured 20 songs (title and artist only) carefully arranged in order to be burned onto a mix CD 80 minutes in length, but you had to seek out the music, download it, and create the actual audio mix. The days of the mixtape/mix CD are pretty much a thing of the past, so I am transitioning this feature into an all new section known as "the playlist."

Each month THISisMODERN.net will compile a list of 10 songs and post them to this blog under the title "the playlist." The cool part is that each song will be accompanied by an embedded YouTube video featuring the song (either the music video itself, a lyric video, or just an audio-only video). Previously, audio/video didn't really have a place in this blog, and after having been writing this blog for over 16 years, it seemed only right to transition in a new feature.

The best part about this feature is that there will be no rhyme or reason to the music posted. It will purely be 10 of the best and newest songs available each month. While it may feature music you may hear played on the radio, THISisMODERN.net aims to make sure that the songs are the one you need to be hearing, paying attention to, and getting into.

Hopefully, THISisMODERN.net will continue to be a place where the cutting edge and innovative meets the classic and soulful; a place where the unknown and popular can receive equal exposure. Hopefully, this blog will continue to be a place where listeners seek out the best of what's new, the best new artists, and the best music that the industry has to offer. THISisMODERN.net promises to deliver the music you want to hear, before you even know you want to hear it!



  1. Phish - Big Boat
  2. Bon Iver - 22, A Million
  3. Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals - Call It What It Is
  4. Matt Corby - Telluric
  5. Dawes - We're All Gonna Die
  6. Jim James - Eternally Even
  7. Brett Dennen - Por Favor
  8. Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool
  9. St. Paul & The Broken Bones - Sea Of Noise
  10. Classixx - Faraway Reach
  11. Red Hot Chili Peppers - The Getaway
  12. The Avett Brothers - True Sadness
  13. The Head And The Heart - Signs Of Light
  14. The Lumineers - Cleopatra
  15. Tegan & Sara - Love You To Death
  16. STS9 - The Universe Inside
  17. Margaret Glaspy - Emotions And Math
  18. Michael Kiwanuka - Love & Hate
  19. Joseph - I'm Alone, No You're Not
  20. Johnnyswim - Georgica Pond
  21. Amos Lee - Spirit
  22. Band Of Horses - Why Are You OK
  23. White Denim - Stiff
  24. Pete Yorn - ArrangingTime
  25. Mason Jennings - Wild Dark Metal
  26. Lissie - My Wild West
  27. The Cat Empire - Rising With The Sun
  28. Nahko & Medicine For The People - HOKA
  29. Greg Laswell - Everyone Thinks I Dodged A Bullet
  30. the NEW DEAL - Mercury Switch


BURN THIS / August 2016

  1. Adam Topol "The Captain"
  2. ALO "Summer Dream (We Got The Time)"
  3. Brett Dennen "Stand Up For It"
  4. O.A.R. "Follow Me, Follow You"
  5. Taylor Carson "Be Here"
  6. JD Eicher "Not Everybody Runs"
  7. Joshua Hyslop "The Spark"
  8. Justin Klump "Loved You Good"
  9. Margaret Glaspy "Somebody To Anybody"
  10. Jack Garratt "Surprise Yourself"
  11. Lissie "Wild West"
  12. Amos Lee "Spirit"
  13. St. Paul & The Broken Bones "All I Ever Wonder"
  14. Needtobreathe "Money & Fame"
  15. The Saint Johns "Testifier"
  16. Daniel Ellsworth & The Great Lakes "The Surface"
  17. The Record Company "Rita Mae Young"
  18. Trapper Schoepp "Dream"
  19. The Wild Feathers "Help Me Out"
  20. The Revivalists "Men Amongst Mountains"


BURN THIS / July 2016

  1. The Head And The Heart "All We Ever Knew"
  2. The Wind And The Wave "Grand Canyon"
  3. The Avett Brothers "Satan Pulls The Strings"
  4. Margaret Glaspy "You And I"
  5. Amos Lee "Vaporize"
  6. Michael Kiwanuka "One More Night"
  7. Matt Corby "Wrong Man"
  8. Mat McHugh "Sideways"
  9. Brett Dennen "Bonfire"
  10. Jon And Roy "Quatro"
  11. Nahko & Medicine For The People "We Are On Time"
  12. Elephant Revival "When I Fall"
  13. Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats "Wasting Time"
  14. Gregory Alan Isakov "Liars"
  15. The Low Anthem "The Pepsi Moon"
  16. Escondido "Footprints"
  17. Griffin House "Easy Come Easy Go"
  18. Trapper Schoepp "Talking Girlfriend Blues"
  19. Hamish Anderson "Trouble"
  20. The Wild Feathers "Leave Your Light On"



THISisMODERN.net will be taking a bit of a summer break this year. BURN THIS posts will continue, but reviews will go on hiatus for the summer. Reviews will resume in September. Enjoy this summer's releases, festivals, and concerts!


BURN THIS / June 2016

  1. Michael Franti & Spearhead "Crazy For You"
  2. The Hip Abduction "Lifted"
  3. Rebelution "Know It All"
  4. The Dirty Heads "That's All I Need"
  5. Pepper "Vacation"
  6. Zach Heckendorf "High Force"
  7. Brett Dennen "Cassidy"
  8. Nahko & Medicine For The People "Love Letters To God"
  9. Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals "Finding Our Way"
  10. Michael Kiwanuka "Black Man In A White World"
  11. Allen Stone "Voodoo"
  12. JP Cooper (featuring Avelino) "Five More Days"
  13. Jack Garratt "Worry"
  14. Javier Colon "Gravity"
  15. Matt Wertz "Lemonade"
  16. Margaret Glaspy "Emotions And Math"
  17. Joseph "White Flag"
  18. Needtobreathe "No Excuses"
  19. The Avett Brothers "True Sadness"
  20. Mike Doughty "I'm Still Drinking In My Dreams"