Links to other music blogs, simplified

So, you want to get a second opinion? We all do. THISisMODERN.net is glad to link you to other great music blogs. Just check out the new "Music Blogs" list in the sidebar to the right. Many of those links were contained within the "Other Links" section, but some are newly added. Know of a blog that should be added to the list? Drop us a line at music@thisismodern.net to let us know and maybe we'll just have to add it.


New Release Tuesday

New music out today worth checking out:
  • Iron And Wine - Kiss Each Other Clean
  • Amos Lee - Mission Bell
  • James Vincent McMorrow - Early In The Morning


No more MySpace

As of 01/24/2011, THISisMODERN.net will no longer be active on MySpace.com. Due to the underuse of the account, the lack of popularity of the site, and the massive amounts of Spam received in the inbox, THISisMODERN.net has cancelled its account with MySpace. Currently, THISisMODERN.net can still be followed on Twitter by visiting www.twitter.com/thisismodern or this blog can be followed directly by visiting the bottom of the sidebar to the right. Unfortunately, despite the massive popularity of the site and the hugely successful and incredibly rivetting film "The Social Network," there are currently no plans for THISisMODERN.net to join Facebook. Thanks for listening and stay tuned for the latest and greatest in new music.



Check out ALO's new music video for the song "I Love Music" from their 2010 album "Man Of The World."


MUSIC VIDEO: G. Love "Fixin' To Die"

Here's the new video from G. Love. It's the title track from his new blues album which was produced by and features Scott & Seth Avett (better known as The Avett Brothers). It will be released on February 22nd.


New Release Tuesday

New music out today worth checking out:
  • James Blunt - Some Kind Of Trouble
  • Benjy Davis Project - Sincerely
  • Bryan Greenberg - We Don't Have Forever
  • Haroula Rose - These Open Roads


New Release Tuesday

New music out today worth checking out:
  • Cake - Showroom Of Compassion


BURN THIS / January 2011

  1. G. Love "Fixin' To Die"
  2. Fistful Of Mercy "Father's Son"
  3. J.J. Grey & Mofro "Hide & Seek"
  4. Nathaniel Rateliff "Whimper And Wail"
  5. The White Buffalo "Into The Sun"
  6. Mason Jennings "January"
  7. Elephant Revival "Go On"
  8. Chase McBride "Hold Me Up"
  9. Ray Lamontagne & The Pariah Dogs "For The Summer"
  10. Jason Spooner "Seed In The Ground"
  11. Brooke Fraser "Jack Kerouac"
  12. Ben Fuller "California"
  13. Donavon Frankenreiter "Hold On"
  14. Lissie "Cuckoo"
  15. The Heyday "Good Old Days"
  16. Churchill "Miles"
  17. Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors "Live Forever"
  18. Haroula Rose "Brand New Start"
  19. Sarah Jaffe "Summer Begs"
  20. John Craigie "All Through Montana"
Listen live to the entire playlist in the music player in the right sidebar all month long during January.

SUCCESS! 365 Reviews In 365 Days

On January 1, 2010, THISisMODERN.net set out to accomplish a very elaborate goal: post 365 reviews in 365 days to commemorate the site's 10th year in existence. The end result is complete success. Here's a few fun facts about the 365 reviews:
  • 315 different artists had albums, EPs, or singles reviewed
  • 3 DVDs were reviewed
  • 9 compilation albums featuring various artists were reviewed
  • During the month of December, 15 Christmas albums, EPs, and singles were reviewed
  • Most reviews of one artist: Matthew Mayfield (5 EPs, including a Christmas EP)
  • All 30 of THISisMODERN.net's top 30 albums of 2010 were reviewed
  • On December 31st, the review posted was the only album to be reviewed which is not yet available for purchase: Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors' "Chasing Someday" (releasing on February 8, 2011)
Thanks to all of the fans, industry reps, publicists, and artists who helped to make 2010 an excellent year for THISisMODERN.net. 2011 will surely be a great year for music and THISisMODERN.net will be there to help bring it all to the masses.