#reviewoftheweek / Phish - Fuego

After 5 years, Phish have returned with a new collection of studio tracks that is their best complete set of studio tracks since they released "Farmhouse." They have managed to harness the best of their stage show and improvisation, while adding in some excellent concise songwriting to bring it all together. They have obvious hits on their hands with songs like "The Line" and "Sing Monica" which are surprisingly radio ready. They showcase the long jam well with the title track and their quirkiness on "Wombat." The albums standout tracks are "555" which features a funky horn section and the quiet swirling "Waiting All Night" which is probably the best from their live debut of these songs on Halloween 2013. Phish have proven that they can do it live and in the studio time and time again, and like fine wine, they continue to get better with age. Though the road and the radio dial have proven to be a young man's realm, it seems Phish can't bear sit idly by, and "Fuego" is a reminder why they have been doing their thing for over 30 years.


#reviewoftheweek / Phillip Phillips - Behind The Light

The latest album from Phillip Phillips picks right up where the last left off. The album is full of jam rock tunes disguised as pop rock ditties. Phillips knows exactly where his roots lie and the blues and jazz elements of his heroes are evident yet again on his second offering. Despite where he got his start, Phillips is shaping up to be a force in the music world bridging gaps between genres that haven't been mixed together since the early nineties. The album's first single "Raging Fire" could have fit well on his debut, but much of the album is a step up from the cookie cutter tunes of the first album. "Fly" is a fantastic track featuring pedal steel from Robert Randolph, and Phillips' co-writers help him craft some fantastic lyrics, including the tune "Alive Again" which was co-written by David Ryan Harris. All in all, a great second album  that should beat the sophomore slump. This collection of songs should allow Phillips to continue to broaden his music spectrum with each subsequent release.


#reviewoftheweek / O.A.R. - The Rockville LP

O.A.R. have been there and back again. That's just what this album is about. Touring for the better part of the past 20 years, after having formed in high school and come into their own in college, O.A.R. have finally brought it all back to where they began. The album sounds like a band who is writing and recording their first batch of songs, only the difference is, they sound like they're doing it with years of experience. Named for where their roots lie, the album features only 10 new songs to add to the band's extensive catalogue, but some of them are classics in the making. The first single "Peace" is in the same vein as previous singles such as "Shattered" and "Heaven" which are full of pop rock simplicity and radio friendly sing-along lyrics. Other tracks like "We'll Pick Up Where We Left Off" and "So Good So Far" are destined to be crowd pleasing fan favorites. "The Architect," which is arguably the best on the disc, features the band's signature funkiness and is sure to turn into a 10+ minute jam session live on stage. Their reggae roots are prevalent on the album's opener, "Two Hands Up" and "Caroline The Wrecking Ball," which was co-written by friend and touring buddy Stephen Kellogg, is a true O.A.R. storyteller. All in all, the album encompasses elements of each album in the band's history, wrapping up a sound that tells a story and a vision of the journey the band has been on so far.


#reviewoftheweek / Rebelution - Count Me In

Despite the fact that they don't have a major label in their back pocket, reggae rockers Rebelution are becoming the quintessential act of the genre. Spearheaded by the rise of Sublime in the mid-nineties, the sub-genre of rock music has a very distinct sound that combines alternative rock, punk, and reggae, but Rebelution have elevated their game by bringing a bit of jam band quality to heir sound and performances. Their latest album has them venturing further in this direction, which they tried a bit of on their previous release. "De-Stress," "Counterfeit Love," and "Lost In Dreams" are the albums standout tracks, all of which the band debuted online before the release of the album. The title track is also one of the albums highlights, as well as their collaborations with Collie Buddz and Don Carlos. There are plenty of bands out there showcasing this style of music (Slightly Stoopid, Pepper, The Dirty Heads, etc.) but Rebelution continue to elevate their game with each new album, trying to stay fresh and do things a bit differently each time. This album, along with their last, showcases how their musicianship is truly the core of their music.


BURN THIS / June 2014

  1. The Dirty Heads "My Sweet Summer"
  2. Rebelution "Lost In Dreams"
  3. Matisyahu (featuring Collie Buddz) "Confidence"
  4. SOJA (featuring Michael Franti & Nahko) "I Believe"
  5. Pepper "Come And Get Me"
  6. Cris Cab "Liar Liar"
  7. Ed Sheeran "Sing"
  8. Sam Roberts Band "Shapeshifters"
  9. Wild Adriatic "Mess Around"
  10. Benjamin Booker "Violent Shiver"
  11. Old 97's "Let's Get Drunk & Get It On"
  12. The Belle Bridgade "When Everything Was What It Was"
  13. Robert Francis & The Night Tide "Love Is A Chemical"
  14. Ray LaMontagne "No Other Way"
  15. Marc Broussard "Hurricane Heart"
  16. O.A.R. "So Good So Far"
  17. John Butler Trio "How You Sleep At Night"
  18. The Revivalists "Chase's House"
  19. moe. "Some Old Story"
  20. Phish "Waiting All Night"