#reviewoftheweek / Charlie Mars - The Money

Charlie Mars has been at it for quite some time, but recently he has become a more prominent figure in the Americana music scene, blending his alternative pop with organic instrumentation to deliver some killer music. This album, the third in a collection known as the Texas trilogy, is a testament to Mars as both a musician and a songwriter. The title track, as well as the lead track "Hell Yeah" are the album's cornerstones, and the ones that fans will gravitate towards as their intro to this album. However, it's songs like the remake of his original "Silver Buttons" and "Danger Danger" that bring his musicianship into perspective. Both songs are driven by their lyrics, but show vastly different facets of Mars' musical delivery. It also helps that he's got a talented backing band. One of the most fun tracks on the album is the reggae-infused "Things You Don't Wanna Know" which also showcases some of Mars lyrics in a more playful way. Despite having been released almost a year ago, "The Money" holds up as a highly listenable and accessible musical collection, and is one of those albums that you crave listening to over and over again.


#reviewoftheweek / Donavon Frankenreiter - The Heart

Donavon Frankenreiter is always reliable when releasing new music. You always get a collection of sunshine acoustic pop songs that transport you directly to the beach, by the campfire, or out on the waves. His latest does not disappoint, and while most of his releases are similar in nature, this release showcases his songwriting at the forefront. "Big Wave" is the first single from the album, and is as fresh as his first songs released over 10 years ago. The title of the album reflects the theme that this entire collection circles around love. It's simple and accessible where it needs to be, yet refreshing and familiar. For his old school fans, it's a welcome addition to the catalogue. For the newbies, it's a great introduction that will have you craving his earlier releases.


#reviewoftheweek / Anderson East - Delilah

Making a splash as a new artist these days takes a lot, especially if you're not in the cookie-cutter-pop-vein that you hear all over radio and television. But when you've got something special like a sound not heard in decades, you're bound to make a name for yourself. That's just what Anderson East has done with his debut album, showcasing his soulful vocals and throwback sound in a top notch way. Just as artists like Allen Stone and Leon Bridges have been able to do, East has tapped into a sound that is both new and familiar, bridging Americana-style folk and classic southern soul, for a sound that is both refreshingly different and nostalgic at the same time. "Satisfy Me" is the album's cornerstone and surely going to be the song keeping Anderson in the running for accolades like "Best New Artist" by year's end. "Find 'Em, Fool 'Em, and Forget 'Em" is piano driven and molds high energy rock and bar room soul into a fun and catchy song. Other highlights include the acoustic "Devil In Me" and rock driven "Keep The Fire Burning." If this album is any indication, we are in for a long and fruitful ride with Anderson East for years to come.


#reviewoftheweek / The Revivalists - Men Amongst Mountains

Roots rockers The Revivalists are the real deal. This New Orleans band has embraced what it meant to be from that city, and their album is like a party in musical form. Each song is creatively crafted to sound accessible and familiar, without sounding like every other band performing these days. It is full of radio-friendly tracks, that with the right exposure, will have The Revivalists being a household name by the end of the year. "Keep Going," "Stand Up," and "Wish I Knew You" are sure to become fan favorites, and the songs that will surely solidify the band's legacy for years to come. Other tracks on the album that have the vibe of a live show are "Move On" and "Gold To Glass," both of which are sure to impress fans both old and new. Vocalist/lyricist David Shaw and company have shown on this album what it means to be a band who loves what they do and has fun doing it. It is evident through each and ever song on the album.


BURN THIS / August 2015

  1. Dispatch "Bound By Love"
  2. Trevor Hall "To Zion"
  3. Michael Franti & Spearhead "Once A Day"
  4. Slightly Stoopid "Rolling Stone (Alt Version)"
  5. G. Love & Special Sauce "I Ain't Finished Yet"
  6. The Revivalists "Stand Up"
  7. Galactic (featuring Ryan Montbleau) "Domino"
  8. Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats "S.O.B."
  9. JJ Grey & Mofro "Light A Candle"
  10. Anderson East "Fine 'Em, Fool 'Em, And Forget 'Em"
  11. Leon Bridges "Smooth Sailin'"
  12. Gary Clark Jr. "The Healing"
  13. Alabama Shakes "Gemini"
  14. Rayland Baxter "Young Man"
  15. Josh Ritter "Getting Ready To Get Down"
  16. Good Old War "Broken Record"
  17. Brandi Carlile "The Things I Regret"
  18. Will Hoge "Desperate Times"
  19. Lowell Thompson "Bradley Street"
  20. Pat McGee (featuring Pat Monahan) "Overboard"